PDA

View Full Version : Is there a point to register as a company for my puny web site(s)?

Vash
01-19-2014, 12:04 AM
I have been running a web site of my own for almost two years. It is not a full time job, but I wish to make it a serious business. I am pulling some revenue (although still puny) through ads. At the same time, I have a second web site which was launched not so long ago but I lack the time to develop it further... so it's not making anything right now. Both web sites will need a lot of work before be able to pulling in decent revenue. I do have the plan to expand them.

The question is, if there is any benefit or any point to register a business/company for my little online venture? It is tiny now, but it will be bigger.
The second question is, how to sign up for a business/company and how much it will cost? lol... sorry I am a total newbie in this.

delusional
01-19-2014, 03:52 AM
It depends on the profit.
It has it's up- and downsides. For example, you can purchase items that your business "needs". This can be a computer, desk, internet subscription, ... You will be able to deduct a portion of the cost because you bought it for your business.

This is some nice information: http://guides.wsj.com/small-business/starting-a-business/how-to-start-an-llc/
Like mentioned: fees can be $30 to $200 to start, depending on your state.
Other taxes can go quite high. So like I said, it depends on the profit. If the total profit is higher than the tax, it's okay to start.

AliceT
01-19-2014, 03:00 PM
It depends upon the laws in your area. A bookkeeper would be able to provide an answer - you shouldn't need to hire an accountant.

If you were running a business that required you to purchase products wholesale, then definitely, registering a business at the beginning would be wise. Since you are not purchasing anything to start-up, it may not be required.