PDA

View Full Version : need advice on tax and business setup

jeppe
01-20-2014, 02:51 PM
Hi,
Im under 18 living in the uk and I repair Idevises (ipods, iphones) and want to offer my service online. I have registered a domain name and im about to set up the website. I have no experience in online business and need some advice. Do i have to register as a business or can i do this without? Do i have to pay taxes for my service? How do i pay taxes? I have no experience in this area, so if you have any info on this please let me know.
Thanks
Jeppe

AliceT
01-20-2014, 03:44 PM
You should check your local laws regarding home based businesses. Some countries do not require you to set up as an "official" business and charge taxes until you make a specific dollar value, others require you to set up as a business immediately if you are intending to make an income. Your age may also be an issue, but this could be as simple as having a relative sign for you. Ask your relatives if they know any bookkeepers or accountants - perhaps you can score some free advise. Most are quite willing to offer advise to someone starting out in the hopes that they can get work from you after you start making money.

All income you make will have to be accounted for at tax time. If you do not have a registered corporation, then this will be entered on your personal income tax form.

Remember to keep track of every penny you spend on setting up your business, as these amounts will/may become deductions at tax time whether you register your company or not.

Also consult your local bylaws regarding home based businesses. The bookkeeper/accountant you speak with should be able to provide information on this.

Don't let all the legal/business stuff discourage you, and don't ignore it. It is easier to take care of things in the beginning, before you start, rather than paying penalties later.

P&T Consulting
01-21-2014, 07:48 AM
Hi,