PDA

View Full Version : Property Owner Liability

ANewLevel
01-31-2014, 03:49 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting, so I apologize if this is not the correct thread for this post.

So here's my situation, I'm looking to start my own "home based" business as a sole proprietor. However, I currently rent a place, and my city says that I need the landlord's signature to register the business license. I spoke to my landlord and he is okay with doing so, but he brought up a good question, if a client were to try and sue me, would he or his assets (i.e. house) be clear of any liability associated with my business?

To be clear, I only call this business home based in the sense that the license will use the home address. I will not actually be doing any work from the location.

Please let me know what you all think, thanks!

AlecD
02-03-2014, 09:36 PM
Just have some documentation created and signed by you and your landlord stating that you personally take all liability. Make sure there is a clause specifying that the house,being the property of your landlord, is therefore barred from any legal issues that could arise from the business being operated on said property. That's what I would do anyways, and realistically there should be no reason it is non-applicable.

fredkawig
02-04-2014, 01:09 AM
Definitely use the house address as a second address and not the main business address. Then the owner would have no liability as it is not the main office address but merely a secondary address for other matters like contacting maybe and the like. You should also stipulate in your Business books that only your company or you shall be sued for malpractice which I'm assuming is already understood and need not be placed in your Company's TOS or Books.

AlecD
02-04-2014, 11:49 AM