PDA

View Full Version : Starting Day trading.

pahagwl
02-14-2014, 02:25 AM
After a lot of research and countless conversations with experienced day-traders, I have decided to finally start day trading. Most of the people I talked to were of the opinion that you cannot time the markets. They also said that being a beginner I would need luck to be on my side to make any kind of money. But a few people said that if you start identifying patterns and trade on fundamentals, I could succeed. So basically, I am looking for strategies you guys use for intra-day trading.

delusional
02-15-2014, 04:25 PM
I really wouldn't start day trading without any experience or thorough research. Like your friends said, you MIGHT make some money if luck is on your side. So there basically is a chance that you have a chance of getting some money. That doesn't sound like a good investment if you ask me...

crimsonghost747
02-15-2014, 05:17 PM
For day trading I highly recommend starting with a demo account. Use the demo account to test strategies and decide which stock you want to do this on, also remember to calculate a realistic commission!

jubvman
02-15-2014, 06:02 PM
For day trading I highly recommend starting with a demo account. Use the demo account to test strategies and decide which stock you want to do this on, also remember to calculate a realistic commission!

I agree with a lot of your posts crimson but personally I think it's best to start live trading from the get go. It may not suit everyone but I always felt demo trading was a waste of time because once you transition the emotions are totally different, and you have to be emotionless if you want to make money.

OP, I'm not sure if you're trading forex or stocks. But reading babypips.com should give you a good foundation. Be prepared to lose money if you decide to trade live, be prepared to lose all of it. Also stick to longer time frames :D

crimsonghost747
02-16-2014, 06:18 AM