PDA

View Full Version : How much does a Local radio ad cost?

Gmac9100
02-28-2014, 09:14 AM
I am starting a small Lawn Care company. With Spring, and summer fast approaching i think it is the perfect time to run a local radio add to stir up interest. Does anyone here have any experience doing this?

How much does it cost? Also. How effective was it for your business?

CSomm
02-28-2014, 06:05 PM
I've had some experience with radio ads in my market, but I'd hesitate to give you a figure---it varies wildly based on the station you're looking to advertise with. I'd ask them about some sort of trade as well, because in smaller markets it can be valuable to the station to be able to contract your free services in exchange for a pretty hefty discount.

That being said, radio advertising is not terribly effective unless you are running a personal campaign as well. A lawn care service is perfect for door-to-door style advertising---that way you can show your customers who you are and what you do. Then the radio ads will be better able to reinforce your service in the mind of your customer. Personals are a must!

crucider
02-28-2014, 08:39 PM
It really depends on the radio station, if it's a real big station they can charge at $500, but if they're not as popular it'll probably be a lot cheaper about ~$100. And a tip is to probably get a spot around rush hour so you'll get as many listeners to the ad as possible.

cpefley
02-28-2014, 11:59 PM
I'm not sure where you live, but I think that a more effective way to drum up business it door to door. It is harder for homeowners to say no in person then to ignore a radio ad. Some people don't even consider hiring a lawn care company until it is brought to their attention. I would start with flyers and just knocking on doors in neighborhoods that you would like to work in. After business picks up word of mouth will help your business grow.

pahagwl
03-01-2014, 01:11 AM