PDA

View Full Version : Any useful advice for opening a bar?

bargirl
03-12-2005, 02:44 AM
A friend and I are considering opening a bar. We have some really good ideas and we think that a bar could really take off in our town. We're just researching right now, but we need information and advice form former and current bar owners so we can get a better idea of what we could possibly be getting ourselves into. We want to be sure that we really want to do this. Any information that anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated.

dbcomputers
03-14-2005, 04:36 AM
Hi BarGirl,

Opening a bar is a tough business and requires a good amount of capital to get going...

But it is very rewarding, i know this because I am a bar manager and have set up my own in the past! I love every minute i work there (as it is my second job) but i have to ask if you have a brewery or how you plan to get hold of the ales... have you already picked a site? if so try and find out about previous bars or existing bars around that area, plan how much you will need and do it, if you think it will do well, why not? Let me know how things go! good luck!

Chris

bargirl
03-17-2005, 12:22 AM
That's one thing I was wondering. How difficult would it be to find out how those other bars in my area are doing? I've tried to look up information on the internet for tips and such but not really getting to far. And I'm not too sure how they would respond to a potential competitor asking for all their vital information. That was my main reason for using this site. I figured people in other areas would be more likely to offer the stuff I need.
I'll have to look into the brewery situation and see what's available to me.
Thanks for the help.

Jodimyatt
03-31-2005, 02:14 PM
I was in the industry for a while manager of a golf club and a local night club, though it played havoc with my own social life and was only really a stop gap.