PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help.....

Nagsy
05-03-2005, 05:27 AM
Hello all,

This is my first attempt at importing goods into the UK. I have been in contact with various manufacturers over the past couple of months in Pakistan and India and have struck a deal with a select few of them. Here in the UK I already have a couple of buyers and am hopeful of getting rid of the remainder of the initial stock I will purchase. The manufacturers in India and Pakistan have provided prices for the goods (C&F by air) but I'm not sure how I can find out what other costs I will need to pay before the goods reach me.

If the goods are sent to an airport here in the UK - will I have to pay any airport handling?

The goods are to be packed in boxes which only weight about 15KG each (* 3 boxes) - can I get these sent directly to me via DHL or do they need to go through customs at an airport? I know that there is a couple of percent of customs tax on the goods but where do I pay this?

I'm not sure of what the next steps are that I should be taking and I'm currently at a stuck point. I'm not sure how to pay the manufacturers either how do I go about doing this? Do I need to get some sort of agreement set up? And what happens if the goods are lost or damaged?

I don't really want to ask the manufacturers too much because then they may feel that I don't really know what I'm doing - its taken me a lot of emails to convince them to deal with me.

Any advice will be most appreciated.

Cheers,

Nagsy

oceanwave
05-05-2005, 04:07 PM
your supplier quote C&F air, which means they will pay the air freight. But you need to find a customs broker at UK to help you clear the customs, and you need to check out how much you need to pay the broker.