PDA

View Full Version : Sole Proprietorship or an LLC?

zhm
03-30-2006, 05:53 PM
I am a licensed massage therapist starting my own business. I will be the sole owner, rented a place, and will hire 2 independent massage therapists. I, myself, will also perform massages to clients.

If you were me, would you consider sole proprietorship or a corp like LLC?

If one of the contractors did something illegal( like sexual massage, etc., which is not allowed in my place), would I be responsible for it?

If the contractor hurt a client during massage, would I be responsible for it? Should I have that covered by insurance or the contractor buy their own insurance?

too many questions, thank you for your help.

BusinessMan
03-31-2006, 06:05 AM
If one of the contractors did something illegal (like sexual massage, etc., which is not allowed in my place), would I be responsible for it?

The answer here in the UK may well be yes, which is why many people set up a Limited Company (equates to an LLC). This tends to offer a degree of protection for personal assets in many scenarios. Obviously, it also sounds better to potential clients, and so can be a marketing benefit.

If the contractor hurt a client during massage, would I be responsible for it? Should I have that covered by insurance or the contractor buy their own insurance?

Again it's a question of what risk profile you are happy with. You can insure your business against all sorts of situations, or none at all. Within the balance you choose cost will be a factor: so I guess the first port of call for you might be to get a few insurance quotes (in terms of legal protection).

I guess overall therefore the first step is research:costs of setting up an LLC, insurance and so on. Then use the data to help you make the decisions.

Christin
04-13-2006, 08:51 AM