Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Online Businesses
    I was hoping to start a DIY blog business. I was wondering if anyone here has any suggestions. Suggestions such as which site to use to start my blog and such would be really helpful! I don't want to spend too much money on this right now, as I am a business student and don't have tons of extra money to waste. Also I was wondering about peoples success rates, and how much money they actually get from these kinds of blogs?

Share on facebook

2. Collapse Details
    I'll list a few things.
    Top reasons why blogs fail:
    - not enough content
    - bad content (things that you can already read everywhere)
    - people who quit
    - not enough promotion

So before you start your blog, be aware that you wont earn anything the first month, you will earn something around a dollar the second month, 3 dollars the third month, ...
    This is only valid if you keep posting fresh content.

As for hosting, you could get a blog for free at Wordpress.com (I advise you use Wordpress) but this will limit your possibilities in the long run. Try to get cheap hosting (you'll only need about 500MB the first year).

Seeing as you're a business student, maybe you can start a blog to teach people about how to save money, avoid marketing tricks, explain how promotions happen at stores, ...

Share on facebook

3. Collapse Details
    Quote Originally Posted by delusional View Post
    I'll list a few things.
    - not enough content
    - people who quit
    - not enough promotion

So before you start your blog, be aware that you wont earn anything the first month, you will earn something around a dollar the second month, 3 dollars the third month, ...

As for hosting, you could get a blog for free at Wordpress.com (I advise you use Wordpress) but this will limit your possibilities in the long run. Try to get cheap hosting (you'll only need about 500MB the first year).