1. Collapse Details
    LLC? PLLC? SCORP? CCORP? Need Advice on Entity Selection & Insurance
    Hello everyone,

So I stumbled across this forum while scouring the internet for information on starting a business. It's my first time here and I could really use some advice. Sorry if this question seems amateur, or our of place, but I'm really hoping I can find some general direction. I'll try to be as detailed as possible.

Live in North Carolina, and when I'm not working my full-time job, I have been teaching CPR/First Aid/AED classes to the public/local fire stations/etc. It's been going pretty well thus far, and I think I'd like to make this business a bit more official, as it's hard to compete with major competitors when I primarily deal in cash and have only recently ordered business cards. There is no official state license requirements in NC for teaching CPR/First Aid classes, to my knowledge, besides the official American Red Cross and American Heart Association-endorsed teachers. As the business expands, many of my prospective clients are asking if I partner with these companies and/or teach my class adhering to OSHA guidelines, which I do, but it's becoming increasingly difficult to book clients without an established business entity that can further my credibility.

I am the "company's" only employee, and I don't really see much expansion. Like I said, this is something I wouldn't mind doing more for a bit more money, but at the same time, I don't see myself hiring any additional employees. To cover the "basics," less than $40k gross income, not worried at all about benefits, and 1 employee (me).