Thread: Quality Changes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Standards
    I have been a Quality Manager for over 8 years and in these years I have seen many changes.

I beleive that Standards are not as popular as they used to be. The thought of creating a Qaulity Management System would send shivers up the most die hard fans.

Have said all that standards are needed for compliance and standardization.

I am from Australia and the big thing here at the moment is sixsigma.

klub

Share on facebook

2. Collapse Details
    What exactly is sixsigma. I have heard of it somewhere before but I'm not familiar with it.

Thanks,
    Andrew

Share on facebook

3. Collapse Details
    It is defined as:
    "A quality measure and improvement program developed by Motorola that focuses on the control of a process to the point of ± six sigma (standard deviations) from a centerline"

I'd view it as a quality method driven by the focus on elimination of defects.

Share on facebook

4. Collapse Details
    Yes, right!
    It is like a philosophy, know-how,method, how to improve the quality in your organisation.

Share on facebook

5. Collapse Details
    Quality and Six Sigma
    Six Sigma is a management philosophy that focuses on eliminating mistakes, waste, and rework.

Six Sigma is used to look at process and figure out why and where they have problems.

Employees will rarely dedicate themselves to a new project unless they see the CEO believing in it, too.

So you have the Executive Leadership at the top to back the program. Once that is accomplished then the other players in Six Sigma can be selected and assigned the projects.

You have the Champions, who clear the obstacles. The Master Black belts who are the engines to make the project move. They are the workhorses. Then you have the Black Belts, and the Master Black Belts understudies, and the Green Belts and Team Members, who serve as support staff.