1. Collapse Details
    I am new to this.. Need suggestions on what I need to open..
    ... a bakery.

I know what I need its more of I dont know where to get it. Where would I get a small oven- are there certain regulations on the size and where would I find this out?

Thank you

Share on facebook

2. Collapse Details
    Where are you located?

In any US metro area of say 300,000 or more there is often at least on place that sells used restaurant fixtures. You can search the local Yellow Pages, or on the web. Actually better chances locally and save shipping. Use the term "used restaurant fixtures". You might also try "used store fixtures".

Again depending on where you are, you will probably need a sales tax number from your state, a local and maybe state business license and some sort of certification by either or a state / local health department.

All of this varies from state to state and even more between cities/counties/etc.

If you give me more info, I may be able to into more detail.

Share on facebook

3. Collapse Details
    More info..

Ok im in MA and I have been going on with this idea for about 1-1/2 yrs and I am ready to just jump in finally. I am not sure where to begin.

If i rent a store front is that my best option? And then purchase used fixtures to begin with?

I have the creative end down no problem its all the technical things that im hung up on.

Thanks for any and all input.

Share on facebook

4. Collapse Details
    In MA I think you also have to buy a business license from the state.

As far as a storefront, keep in mind the old "location, location, location".

It's hard to advise long distance. Best to talk to some local folks. You might try the local SCORE group. Should be in the phone book, or online. Links disappear here, so i won't post one, but just google SCORE and you should get a hit.

You will also need an inspection from the health people. You can get more info there from the local health dept.

Share on facebook