Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Creating a Business
    Robert Guest
    I am a highschool student and registered my ficticious business name with the county clerk were I live. I had no problems with that and nobody asked me any questions. When I applied for my sales tax number from the state board of equilization no where on any form did they ask for an age. But when they returned my application they told me I must be eighteen to recieve one.

The problem is I have already gotten orders from customers and have no way of ordering a wholesale catalog. If there is anybody who knows a way around this or this has happend to them or someone they know, please post a reply to this message.

Share on facebook

2. Collapse Details
    Creating a Business
    technxd0tcom Guest
    Luckily for me I happened to be 18 when the idea for a Small Biz came up. Saddily tho when I applied for my tax ID number i sent in the original DBA that i received from the state and now im screwed b/c i cant get a bank account in my DBA for my business until i get a new one or the original back which is probably shredded by now

well anyway.. i was never asked about any age when I applied for my tax id... all you need is a social security number to get a Tax ID not a business name... so I'd suggest either 1* borrowing someone elses SSN for the time being or 2* wait until your old enough.

Good luck!

Share on facebook

3. Collapse Details
    Sales Tax ID
    Hi, Robert ~

Since you are speaking of the State Board of Equalization, I believe you are in California. They are a bit more strict when is comes to business licenses and tax IDs than most states. Your best bet is to have a business partner (silent or otherwise) that would be willing to help you for a portion of the profits or a guaranteed payment (i.e. salary) for his/her assistance. This partnership would need to be put in writing to protect yourself as much as the other person.

Share on facebook

4. Collapse Details