Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    How do I expand my business?
    I have come up with an invention of sorts. I found a way to lower the time it takes to clean the exterior of a home "pressure washing" from 14 man hours to 1 hour and it does a great job. I want to franchise and spread out but I have little business experience and not very much savings. Please contact me if you have any ideas.

Share on facebook

2. Collapse Details
    Re: How do I expand my business?
    Hi Scott,

Well that certainly sounds like one heck of a time saver.

There are a couple of things that I got from your message, if I understand it correctly. One is the issue of savings or a funding source, and two, is having the experience in franchising

The first issue of funding is going to require a business plan in order for you to have someone "buy" into your idea or to provide assistance in the form of a loan or venture capital. There are many free resources online to assist you with that.

Stop number one for you should be the Small Business Administration. There is a wealth of information on their website and key information on writing a business plan.

There are also some really great software packages out there specifically geared to a "newbie" in business who wants to write a business plan, and they don't have to be expensive. Try looking at Business Plan Pro for starters.

On franchising, it depends on how savvy you are as to whether you want to go and learn everything there is to learn about the ins and outs of franchising and taking a stab at trying it, or just hiring your "weakness". Now that's not meant to be an insult, that is actually a good business rule to follow...use your strengths and hire your weaknesses!

Try Googling "how to start a franchise" and start looking through the information you find to get just a very cursory look at what is going to be involved.

I hope that helped, ask plenty of questions.

Share on facebook

3. Collapse Details